Buen Camino! We made it!

by Captain Bradley

  
We started early today for us. 6:30 was so early that our pension’s kitchen wasn’t quite ready to serve.  That was fine.  A great nights sleep was all we needed, after hot showers and delicious dinners, of course. 

Our intent was to split yesterday and today into nice 25k days. Geography had another idea. 24k yesterday and closer to 28k today. And it felt like it. 

But, we rolled into the cathedral squares right around noonish and here’s a sample of the welcoming structures…

   
    
   
…massive & beautiful , even under renovation. 

The pedestrian-only areas go on and on out from the plazas. We window shopped and scouted out cafe’s and park areas before our respective ciesta s. Our boutique pension is just down the hill from the cathedral, the quiet side of the old city.  It’s managed by a husband & wife with two little ones running around or needing care too. The may live in the apartment behind the hotel. Another chic, yet affordable place to rest, get clean, and adventure out of for a couple days of recovery & exploration. We even have air-conditioning. Bonus. For my improving health, I sourced our supply of mineral water, bag full of huge oranges, and a couple more 1.55€ liters of local vino tinto for nightcaps on the patio.  

Obviously, post-ciesta now, I continue to yawn like never napped. My body is telling me that 13 days straight crossing northern Spain might just be my limit. That’s my understanding of certain aches and weird pains in weird places. 

However, it’s been remarkable from concept to making it happen. All thanks to a remarkable daughter…

  
…and my unbelievable partner at home who encouraged this journey and stayed home to care for all solo. 

  
Thank you, My Love. I miss you, our boys, and Lilly terribly , but this time with our oldest girl & a huge cast of characters has been fun, enriching, exhausting, and culturally educational. 

Our huge world just got a little smaller thanks to My Love above and to that little girl of ours who’s all grown…but wonderfully not quite grown-up. 

Love to you all back at home in the U.S., in Munich, and right here in Santiago, Spain. 

And, all the best the world can offer you & yours who are reading, sharing, and encouraging our journey. 

I’ll be offering reflections about this challenging “spiritual” journey next time. For now, here are the last images we took on the Camino….

    
 
   
 
  
For the last time, unless My Love wants to bring me back, Buen Camino!

Cheers. 

