Great exhausting, peaceful, and a restful day!

by Captain Bradley

Quite the 46,000+ steps over 32km today, my first day back walking, according to my wrist gadget. The first 21km felt like nothing big. Minor twinges in knees and hip. No big deal.

But. I had really fueled up…here…

Quite the delicious starter at the AC Burgos…had my fill…right before a band of American senior citizens had their way with the buffet. It was overwhelming. It was cruel. It was Shock-and-Awe…and that was just the hotel staff. I expected it, once I saw and heard the first of them loudly complain about something I've already forgotten . I just sat back and pretended to be the 6'3" , 265lb wall flower that I am….until….Friar Tuck, younger and with his full head of hair, wished me "Buen Camino" and then he had to explain that to the group. That was my cue to leave.

The sun was rising and I found myself at this place of The Way movie…

Lots of flats to come. The Meseta.

Some call boring. Some avoid.

I call it a breadbasket. I would not avoid its beauty and purpose. Sunflowers and hay feed us one way or another.

Breezed into Hornillas so easily.

Too, too easily.

Grabbed Jamon, chorizo, sin pan, grande cervesa, agua, and switched out for fresh socks/Keens and I want to go past Hornillas (pardon, spelling from memory).

10km to Hontanas should be fine.

It was as long a 10k as I remember from my last Camino. Feet were fine until the last 2km. Same for my attitude.

FYI. Cursing, even to oneself, is probably some kinda sin. Granted, I do tend to sin a bit.

All was fine until those last 2km that I could have saved if I wasn't a brief idiot. I believed my guidebook over the arrows. Stupid. Stupid. Stupid.

It was as long a last few kilometers and then, after this pilgrim's walk there she was. Very welcomed, indeed.

Agua was my highest priority. My fount of hydration was right there next to Mother Mary. Perfecto.

Descending into town, I stopped, looked it over, and quickly booked my habiticion privada at Juan de Vepes. She sits at the highest point in town, with a nice green space, and views of their sweet church and surrounding countryside.

(photo above taken right before bedtime)

As I type, the Mass bells ring sending the birds of its belfry flying. Now. They fly back. It's a bird version of happy hour on that bell tower.

My room is perfecto, if my needed hot shower and two hour nap were any indication. I feel like a new man.

Woke up refreshed. Dressed for dinner here at Juan's and went for,
of all things, a walk around town.

From my Albergue to the municipal pool at the west end, more interesting characters. Very few gringos and I do love it.

Walked back and I'm settled here for the night. Pilgrim dinner at 7, of course. Limited to 12, and I will be delighted to join the communal dinner. Paella is on the menu. Just for 12, it should be perfecto. We shall see.

My love wants to chat now via FaceTime on her lunch hour. Ciao for now.

Great chat over some time. All is good back home.

Peregrino dinner at 7 sharp.

Perfecto.


Chunks of pollo love sprang from this deliciousness.

Beautiful perigrino dinner sprang from my fellow solo, albeit French, dinner companion and three pairs of Germans, Italians, and Russians, respectively from front to left around. Teenage Russian boy served his mom with gusto. Loved that. Italian ladies kept to themselves. But I gave them the handshake of love and let them go to safer feelings. The German gals (pictured above) could understand some English as a team effort. It was a sweet effort. They were cool. Even sharing my brilliant, youngest daughter story. Danke, new German friends. If not for them, it was just me and Frenchy chatting between helpings of a huge insalata and wonderful paella.

More to come here. Time to go and wifi here is blaaaaahhhhh.

Ciao for now!

