#MyComfyCamino realities..

by Captain Bradley

I'll bet you $'s to €'s that you've never read such a post as this!

Older men issues on the Camino….

It looks like #MyComfyCamino blog post earlier this month struck a nerve in a mostly positive way.

But, I left out a few important and practical matters about why I choose to find my best "uno habaticion privada" options on My Camino. It's for me AND for my nightly group of fellow pilgrims, for what are just a few more Euros going to good people anyway.

My Comfy Camino issue #1:

I wake up too early. 3am last night. Almost 4am this morning. Toss and turning. Deep breathing. No more sleep for now. Tossing makes noise. Getting up makes noise. Connecting with home and reading on my phone creates a light. If one is self-aware at all, who wants to be that guy who invites all around him to his wake up party?

My Comfy Camino issue #2:

Older men usually have to pee in the wee-wee hours of the morning. On road trips, My Love and our girls would joke about "dad's bladder of a yak" when stopping more frequently for them to make water. (Granted, this was before google and our Encyclopedia Britannica, Vol. "Y" was back at the house. If we insulted any yaks along our way, sincerest apologies to any offended yaks.)

Back to the here and now. Getting up to relieve oneself is annoying enough to the one you sleep with at home. I can't imagine the level of irritation from any light sleepers when one or more of us pilgrims/strangers get up at random times, maybe shake the bunk a little, maybe creak a bit with the floor, squeak a door or two, then FLUSH!!!!, and creak and squeak all over again upon return.

You feeling the love for older men yet?

My Comfy Camino issue #3:

Older men make noises. Snoring is one of the top pilgrim complaints. Ear plugs can help, but what if there's a chorus of men AND women heavy breathing to sawing very tough logs with their symphony of esophageal instruments? No one sleeps well, especially the ones suffering from sleep apnea, which is fairly common with larger people. I had it years ago when I weighed over 300 pounds. Not pretty for all involved. And, we older men make other noises just breathing, clearing the throat, sniffing, snorting, and blowing our nose too. We just do and everyone we love, who's travelled with us, knows this so well.

I understand that the pilgrim experience is different for everyone. My Comfy Camino may not be the cheapest budget, but I appreciate the Comfy options for me and, indirectly, for my fellow pilgrims. And I'm sure that our various hosts here in Spain appreciate the extra Euros. It is, along with communal meals, how they pay their bills. Gracias.

On that note of thanks, I must take my leave and do what older men do, just across the hall. This former yak must empty again.

BTW, this is one pilgrim who refuses to poop on the Camino. I would give you my older man secrets there, but I've shared enough already. 😉

Buen Camino. 🌅

Ultreia!🇪🇸

